Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rohit Sharma dominated out of ODI sequence in SA, KL Rahul named captain of 18-member squad

Captain Rohit Sharma was once on Friday dominated out of India’s upcoming ODI sequence in South Africa because of a hamstring damage, forcing the selectors to nominate KL Rahul as skipper of an 18-member staff for the white-ball leg of the excursion.

All-rounder Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja have been additionally no longer decided on as they weren’t are compatible whilst senior pacer Mohammed Shami, who’s within the staff for the continuing Take a look at sequence, was once rested. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah was once named as vice-captain of the staff.

“Rohit isn’t are compatible, he’s in rehab. We by no means sought after to take probability with him,’ BCCI chairman of selectors Chetan Sharma stated.

“We want to groom KL Rahul. He has proved his management qualities. KL is the most productive person who can deal with the facet.”

The 3 ODIs will probably be performed at Paarl and Cape The city on January 19, 21 and 23 respectively.

Squad: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: